Update browser for a secure Made experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full Made experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

{{ViewModel.Minutes}} minutes, {{ViewModel.Seconds}} seconds remaining to complete purchase. Why?

Mozart and Beethoven with Jane Glover

May 08 - May 10

Baroque and Classical expert Jane Glover conducts this program spotlighting Mozart. Bookended by his Symphonies Nos. 35 and 39 — both full of gorgeous melodies from beginning to end — the concert features his buoyant Oboe Concerto performed by NY Phil Principal Oboe Liang Wang. Ah, perfido!, by Beethoven, one of Mozart’s most eminent heirs, is a dramatic showpiece for soprano, sung by Karen Slack.

Date / Time

Create-Your-Own Subscriptions for the 2023–24 season are available; purchase 3+ concerts and save at least 10% off single ticket prices. Plus, you’ll enjoy other great benefits, including no-fee ticket exchanges.


Wu Tsai Theater, David Geffen Hall



2 Hours with Intermission

Program to Include


Symphony No. 35, Haffner



Oboe Concerto


Ah, perfido!



Symphony No. 39



Jane Glover Conductor

Acclaimed British conductor Jane Glover — named Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire in the 2021 New Year’s Honours — has been music director of Chicago’s Music of the Baroque since 2002 and recently was named principal guest conductor of the Fort Worth Symphony. She has conducted all the major symphony and chamber orchestras in Britain, as well as orchestras in Europe, the United States, Asia, and Australia. In recent seasons she has appeared with the New York Philharmonic; The Cleveland, Philadelphia, and Minnesota orchestras; the Bamberg, San Francisco, Houston, St. Louis, Sydney, Cincinnati, and Toronto symphony orchestras; as well as Montreal’s Orchestre Métropolitain and New York’s Orchestra of St. Luke’s. Her recent engagements have included The Cleveland Orchestra, Houston Symphony, Maggio Musicale Florence, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, and St. Louis Symphony Orchestra.

Learn more about Jane Glover

Liang Wang Oboe

Liang Wang joined the New York Philharmonic in September 2006 as Principal Oboe, The Alice Tully Chair. Previously, he was principal oboe of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra (2005–06), Santa Fe Opera (2004–05), and San Francisco Ballet Orchestra; associate principal oboe of the San Francisco Symphony; and guest principal oboe of the Chicago and San Francisco Symphony Orchestras. He has performed as concerto soloist with the New York Philharmonic 23 times, including his debut performing Richard Strauss’s Oboe Concerto, led by Xian Zhang, in Hong Kong during the Orchestra’s 2008 tour of Asia. In addition, he has been heard as a featured player in works ranging from J.S. Bach’s St. Matthew Passion and Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 to Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde and Varèse’s Octandre.

Learn more about Liang Wang

Karen Slack Soprano

Soprano Karen Slack is celebrated for not only her powerful performances, but also her dedication to change in classical music. A recipient of the 2022 Sphinx Medal of Excellence, Slack is an artistic advisor to Portland Opera, serves on the board of the American Composers Orchestra and Astral Artists, and holds a faculty position at the Banff Centre.

Learn more about Karen Slack


Jane Glover’s appearances are made possible through the Charles A. Dana Distinguished Conductors Endowment Fund.

The May 8 performance is supported by The Margaret Enoch Foundation in memory of Margaret Enoch.

The May 9 performance is supported by a generous bequest from Edna Mae and Leroy Fadem, loyal subscribers from 1977-2023.